Lapbanded Lady in a Lolly Shop…..

 

Give me strength!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  This is just a small section of the shop and it hadn’t been filled up properly when I took this photo!!   I will take some more for you later……. *sigh*

I love the pink and orange colour scheme…..it is so bright and cheerful and very “Willy Wonka”.  The counter is quite big and tall and, I have to say, I do feel a bit like an Oompa Loompa!!!  lol lol  I like to pop up from behind the counter with a big cheery “Good Morning” and scare the shit out of a customer 🙂  I am finding the temptation not too bad to cope with.  There are certain things that I HAD to taste and now I have I am quite happy.  For instance…….rum and raisin fudge, chocolate coated raspberries and anything white chocolate really!  The smell is overwhelming when you first walk in and the speciality chocolate cabinet is divine!!  I am kind of like a cat in pile of catnip when I stick my head in the chocolate cabinet!  But…….I am proud of myself and I have shown great restraint.  I have my water bottle that I swig from regularly and I have found that even after only one week the novelty of being surrounded by such glorious temptation is waning. 

All the customers have been happy……so far.  Being happy does not exclude them from being annoying and dumb however 🙂  But that is what I love about customer service….. the variety.  We have long, thick straps of licorice for $4.00 and bags of fresh licorice for $3.70 and other assorted jar lines of licorice that you can purchase for whatever price per 100g.  So what does one lady want today???  She only wants a small piece of the strap of licorice.  I tell her the licorice in the bag is the same……….no, she only wants a small piece of the strap licorice.  We only sell it by the FULL strap madam.  But no……she really only wants a  HALF  piece of the strap.  How the fark would you like half a head butt madam!!!!!!!!!!!?????????????????  You know what I did??….I farking took the strap and cut off a piece of it and charged her like a wounded bull for it and she was happy!!!!  I cut the rest up as FREE tasters for other people that I LIKED 🙂

Then you have the really, really smart people that bring a box of fudge up to the counter and ask what flavour it is.  Well, don’t quote me Sir……..but I am guessing that because it has GINGER FUDGE written all over the farking box that it might just taste a bit like ginger!!!!!!  What do you reckon????????    *sigh*  So, the new job is going well and I am loving every minute of it really 🙂  It has been a bit full on getting it all up and running and settling into a routine, but I work with another lovely lady with a third starting in the new year…..so then it wont be as busy and I will have more blog time…

I had .2ml put into my band a week ago in amongst all the Harry dramas.  Dr Dreamy was his usual gorgeous self and he always puts a smile on my dial.  I thought .2ml would make bugger all difference actually……WRONG!!!!  Wow…..it is fantastic.  It has really pulled me up again and stopped the bigger portion sizes that were starting to sneak into my lifestyle again.  I have to admit I have ‘PB’d a bit this week but that is because I didn’t chew properly or I rushed too much.  I am gradually slowing myself down again and getting into the new groove.  Would you believe I managed to lose a kilo in the first week I was let loose in a lolly shop!!!!  Got to be happy with that 🙂

I have started a new page over on the right….my fresh start page.  I need to get the rest of my weight off in the next 12mths come hell or high water and I wanted to document and keep tabs on myself a little more with regular weigh-ins.  So I started a new page. All the gory details will be in there….

Thank you for all your kind remarks about Harry.  My dogs really are like my children and I would be equally devastated if something happened to them.  Ricky was vacumming before I came back from up the coast and found a pile of phlem with a wasp in the middle of it on the floor in the spare bedroom.  Harry likes to sleep on the spare bed so we feel it is a safe bet to assume that it was this wasp that caused the damage to Harry.  Wasps can keep stinging…..so it probably bit him on the way down and on the way back up again!!  At least we know what caused the damage now.

I am still struggling to find my Christmas cheer!!  I have just been so busy that I haven’t really stopped to take a breath and soak in the season this year!!  Oh well……  I am pretty sure it will find me on the day 🙂  Have a wonderful, safe, happy and joyous Christmas my friends……………………………..   🙂

Ahhhhhhh bugger it!!!!……………………………………………………………………………………………bring it on 🙂

17 thoughts on “Lapbanded Lady in a Lolly Shop…..

  1. Do you have those sweets shaped like a peanut with its shell on? They’re my faves. Or anything butterscotchy… This time of year is hopeless for resisting sweets – working in a hospital everybody brings us biscuits, sweets and chocolate as Christmas gifts…
    Well done you for managing to stay away from the merchandise! Now all you need to cope with is Christmas goodies…
    Caroline

  2. Sorry haven’t commented lately – been reading and rushing but I fully understand how scary and stressful the Harry episode must have been – I know Zanna (and the two before her) are unquestionably members of the family. But good to now know for sure what caused it all. The shop looks like a lot of fun and your description of some of your Mr and Mrs Customers cracked me up – but as you say that’s what makes it all such fun – plus it gives you a good story to share at teatime!! Hope you have a wonderful Christmas Zxx

  3. You should be wrting books woman! I loved how you described the customers. Will take a bit of restraint but I wonder if after a bit being surronded by all those goodies will sort of put you of them?

    Have a wonderful Christmas:-)

  4. I worked at a candy counter in high school – oh that is such a bad job for me! Best of luck to you! Losing a kilo while you worked there – amazing self control, many congratulations!

  5. Glad to here Harry is over the worst. Don’t ya just love customers? They can be some of the sweetest, dumbest creatures on earth…LOL And hats of to you for loosing a KG…in a sweet shop. Pretty sure wouldn’t have been able to do it.
    :o)
    xx

  6. rum and raisin fudge, chocolate covered raspberries. OMG , that is much much harder than candy corn and jelly beans. But it seems like you’re making the transition from seeing these things as temptations to seeing them as merchandise.

    Your sense of humor seems like an essential part of working with customers AND maintaining your sanity. I would have wrapped the licorice strap around your customer’s neck while singing silent night in a high (off) key. (Well, maybe not.) You probably managed to keep her as a customer, lucky you.

    Have a decent (if not merry) Christmas.

    As to starting over with the weight, I’ve finally gotten back on track after seeing some unfortunate pictures that my daughter’s boyfriend took with me and Rachael and with me, Rachael and my hubby. Yikes.

  7. wowwwwwwww love the colours…..ahhhh and I bet the smell in there is deevineeeeeee!!!

    Cheers and lots of joy to you and yours over the festive season. xx

  8. Hey there, Nola
    So happy to hear from you and thanks so much for popping in and commenting on my blog – like you I’m finding Christmas cheer a bit hard to come by. But as I sit here writing this I’m in for a whirlwind of a day – it’s Xmas Eve and we are celebrating it today – pressies, dinner etc with Chris’s brother and sister in law and kids who we haven’t seen for four years (one of the one who live in the US.) and the rest of the crew.

    You do seem to have things well planned out in tackling the rest of this weight loss – bloody good luck with it!!!! – and that lolly shop of yours looks beautiful. You are going to make a great manager.. I can see you in there terrorising the clientel and having fun doing it lol. Love you madly and hope you and Rick have a lovely, lovely day. Will be thinking of you.

    Cara xxx

  9. Nola – just a quick note to wish you a very happy Christmas, and to thank you for all the lovely positive things you say on my blog. I so appreciate all the bandit support!

    Hug from Caroline

  10. I see you couldn’t stop Christmas so I thought I would come by and wish you Merry…I hope you have a lovely day with the hubs and enjoy! The lolly shoppe looks fantastic and I swear I can smell those goodies over here…yum…

  11. Nola…… I love the lolly shop! Merry Christmas and Happy New year , hope to hear from you next year…I just love your blogging talent!!!

  12. Nola, I love it and my best wishes for many fun loving and hungry pleasant customers. If it weren’t so far, I would have to come and sample. I know I would be one of your favorite people. I am so glad you might have figured out what caused Harry’s problem. Our cat like to swap at wasps and then try to eat them. Smiles and happy thoughts to you.

  13. Oh my, oh my… that shop just looks divine! My family (mum, dad, sister) were in Strahan a couple of weeks ago… I wish I had read this first and I would have sent them in!

    Congrats on the new job, though – it sounds great. Yay for you!

    And I’m so glad Harry is ok. Had to quickly scroll down the posts to see that he was all good now. I know exactly what you mean about the furbaby panic, and it must be super hard being so far away from a vet.

    Anyway, wishing you a happy new year – 2010 is going to be a great year for you, I’m sure!

    Lots of love
    xxx

Leave a Reply

