Painting, Poisoning & Bloody Christmas!!…….

Yes…I have had a bit going on of late!!  Firstly…..SYLVIA…..yes, it is a candy shop if you MUST call it that 🙂  It’s title is Chew Choos Lolly Shop.  We will have all the lovely old English sweets and everything else you could possibly think of.  John, the owner’s, first shop is called Chew Choos and is situated in an old train carriage in Southern Tasmania….hence the name……Chew CHOOS….get it?????  Anyhooo…….the Strahan one I will be managing is called the same.  We have a tourist train here that takes you through the temperate rain forest to Queenstown, so the name kind of fits here also.  I am away from home at the moment but I will most certainly post some photos of the finished shop when I get back…………you are nearly finished aren’t you John!!????

John has been very busy renovating and painting out the old building he is converting into the lolly shop.  It is a fabulous little character building tucked in under the hill overlooking the township of Strahan.  I am very excited to be opening soon……this Monday if all goes according to plan.  John had to go back to Hobart for a few days, so I did some painting and cleaning and Ricky helped by digging up the wild garden beds and tidying the outside which I really appreciated.  The colour scheme is a very bright, cheery pink and orange which I love and it looks great!  It will be such a bright, happy place to work.

I wasn’t supposed to be up here at my Mum’s place until Wednesday.  I was going to do my Christmas shopping and go see Dr Dreamy on Saturday and head back to Strahan.  The best laid plans ehh?????

Monday afternoon Ricky headed up to the golf course with his son who was visiting and I tooted off to the supermarket.  When I returned I grabbed my couple of bags out of the car and headed for the backdoor.  Harry and Scarlett were in front of me leading the way.  Harry got to the top of the steps and just collapsed and fell back down to the bottom of them unconcious!!  I threw the groceries down and went to him.  He was concious again but salivating really badly and trying to lift his head.  I had a total meltdown and my first thoughts were he had been bitten by a snake.  I had my mobile phone in my pocket and rang my Strahan friend to go and get Ricky off the golf course and tell him to come home immediately!!  I was howling my eyes out and could hardly talk.  I felt Harry all over for ticks and checked for any bite marks but I couldn’t find anything.  I then rang Mum and got her to ring the vet and give him the symtoms.  I knew in my heart it didn’t matter what they were really……the vet is just over two hours away from Strahan and if it was a snake bite he didn’t have much hope of making it that long to get anti-venom.

The house phone rang and I left Harry out on the back porch and ran into the house to answer it.  I looked up and Harry was trying to follow me.  His legs were going in all directions and he was staggering and falling over……but he made it to the loungeroom where I was.  I made him lay down and just tryed to calm down and stop crying and pat him and keep him calm.  I suppose 20 minutes had passed and Ricky came home.  When Ricky walked into the lounge Harry got up and walked over to him and wagged his tail !!!!  It looked like I had made it all seem worse than it was!!!!    Anyway…..to cut a longish story short……I had a shower and calmed myself down while Ricky transcribed my list of things to do up the coast off the whiteboard for me.  I packed up and me and the two dogs hit the road for Burnie.  I was to ring the vet when I got there…….

Harry had an injection and is on a course of tablets but is back to his old self again except for the fact the tablets make him a bit tired.  The vet told me the back of his throat is burnt like he has drunk something caustic……but this could be from the release of poison from whatever he may have swallowed.  We think it may have been a bumblebee.  Ricky pulled out some big rose bushes from the side of the house and two bumblebees have been buzzing around for a while.  He thinks he may have wrecked their home.  I believe Harry was probably rolling around on his back on the grass like he does quite often and has accidently huffed a bee down his throat and it has stung him on the way down.  The vet seems to think whatever it was caused an allergic reaction and his airways started to close up….hence the going unconcious bit.  I had some antihystamines that I keep for Scarlett because she is allergic to bees………I threw 6 of them down Harry’s throat.  I knew they wouldn’t hurt him and could only help if he had been bitten.  The vet thinks that may have saved his life!!  So……drama this week for us !!  But I have my Harry for Christmas and that is all that matters 🙂

So I am staying at my Mum and Dad’s until Sunday morning.  Now I know Harry is OK I have been going to town and getting some shopping done.  I still haven’t really got that Christmas spirit going on though.  In fact….I feel quite blahhhhhh    Maybe when I get into the shop and happy holiday touristy people come in I might cheer up!!  Or……. I could slap them with a giant python lolly!!!!!  Or shove an outsized candy cane up their……………………………..  oh never mind 🙂  I am not exactly sad…..  just not Christmassy…ho, ho bloody ho ho kind of frantic happy……you know??

I think roast turkey is soooooooo yesterday don’t you????        wahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa  🙂

(Click on the picture to animate it)

10 thoughts on “Painting, Poisoning & Bloody Christmas!!…….

  1. Holy Heck!!! Not the Harrister!!! I nearly freaked out when I read he was sick and all I was thinking of was…. “Did Nola sort that combined snake venom antidote she spoke about while I was there??? (Remember we talked about it?) ……….and thank God he’s ok.. so a bumblebee huh? Sheeeeeeet.. bet Scarlett was beside herself – along side you! Poor little Harry…….and poor you for your misery while it lasted!

    Hey thanks for the gorgeous compliment on my Vlog lol I must say I was a bit chuffed.. and really nice of you to throw it my way. I feel better so I was hoping I looked better too lol but I still hate the way I look on the damn video! Don’t we all (too self critical me thinks..)

    Sounds like its all a go for the lolly shop and managerial duties! You sure have had a lot on your plate… far out…

    Anyway…. just want to wish you and Rick the best and happiest Christmas ever and Chris and I will be thinking of you!! Don’t forget – if you ever come this way – drop me a line and you’re staying here with us!!! No ifs or buts (as if!!!!!) lol.

    xxxxxx

  2. Lolly shop? Candy shop?? Noooooooooo… you mean a SWEET shop – specially if you’re selling English style sweets!

    How lucky it was that you thought of the antihystamines, wow, what a close call… so glad Harry’s now OK.

    So if you don’t have turkey, what’s it to be then??

    Caroline

  3. OMG Poor Harry! I’m so glad you were able to save him – and that you thought of the antihistamines! It’s so hard to guess what’s going on with our furry friends.

  4. I’m so glad the pup is well…I would have been completely useless in that situation…or any situation for that matter!

    Not really feeling the Christmas spirit here either…I’m looking for it though…I’ll let you know! Be safe and good luck at the lolly shoppe.

  5. Hello love, so glad to hear that your quick thinking saved the day! Hooray! I hope you are near me if I ever find myself in an emergency situation. Well done.

    Now that I feel nearly back to normal, I have started catching up on my blog reading. Sorry to have been a stranger, but sleep deprivation kinda ruled there for a while.

    Anyway, speaking christmassy, my beautiful babushka dolls are out on display right now, they look so christmassy, and every time i walk past them, i think of you. So you are in my thoughts over Christmastime.

    Season’s Greetings,
    tracey

  6. Nola, you’re writing style is soooo compelling. I feel like I’m reading a short story by a highly excellent author, except that I’m more emotionally keyed into what’s happening because I know that it is true. Poor Harry. Poor You. I’m glad that you have a good hypothesis of what occurred. Imagine how you’d be feeling if there was no evidence of what had occurred. I’m glad it all had a happy ending.

    As to Christmas, it will come and it will go. What really is exciting me is that the new year will be 2010. As you may or may not know, I had a thing about cool numbers. 2/20/2020 will be a particularly awesome date.

  7. Oh my God is It was Storm I would have been the same as you except maybe not with the all together mindset to get the anti histamines in her.

    I’m so glad he’s ok.

Leave a Reply

